THE TROOP by Nick Cutter – A Horror Recommend by Alistair Cross

Posted: March 15, 2017 in books, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

the-troop

A few months ago, we had librarian (and top Goodreads reviewer) Karen Brissette on Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE! It turned out to be a great show for many reasons, but I was most intrigued and impressed by the “Readers Advisory” aspect of Karen’s job. For those like me who’d never heard of such a thing, “Readers Advisory,” is a service that helps readers find new books based on their personalities, tastes, and previous reading experiences. Karen is, in short, a professional book suggester … which I think is awesome. Who knew there was such a thing?

Anyway, during the show, I asked her to work her magic on me and tell me what authors were out there just waiting to dazzle my reading sensibilities. She asked me some questions about my literary preferences – which books and authors I like, which ones I don’t and why – and after some thought, she said, “Nick Cutter.”

I’d never heard of Nick Cutter and, eager to see how accurate her assessment was, I hurried out to get THE TROOP, a novel she thought I’d particularly enjoy.

And boy, was she right.

It’s taken me a while to finish due to other obligations, but I knew as soon as I started it, this was my kind of book. I read the last page tonight and am pleased to announce that my initial impression upheld. I dare say it’s one of the best I’ve read – ever. Think Lord of the Flies meets 1980s Stephen King meets anything by Richard Laymon. I will definitely be reading more by this author.

But wait. There’s more …

Naturally, when I find an author I love, I want to meet him or her, and thanks to the radio show, I get to do that. So … later this month, Nick Cutter will be our guest on Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE!, and I can’t wait to meet him! I’ll post the details as soon as I have them. You’ll definitely want to tune in.

Finally, to the horror lovers – check out this book. It’s grisly, visceral, and beautifully, cruelly, true to life. If you like it dark, appalling, and terrifying, you’ll dig it, I promise.

Thoughts?

