Posts Tagged ‘Psycho’

Mother

“In Mother by Tamara Thorne & Alistair Cross, the adage that “you can’t go home again” becomes the horrifying truth. Jason and Claire Holbrook find themselves in an untenable position. She’s pregnant, he’s a newly disabled pilot with no job. Moving in with the mother Claire ran away from ten years earlier was the last thing she wanted to do, but it was the only thing they could do. The only problem, the Femme Fatale from Hell, just also happens to be the Mother from Hell …

“A psychological thriller that will have you engrossed, ignoring the clock, and so profoundly disturbed you won’t close the book until early the next day. Just be prepared for sleep to evade as you contemplate the possible existence of such monsters.

“Mother is a reimagined “Psycho” and an even more alarming glimpse into the world of psychopaths. Well done Thorne and Cross, even King and Hitchcock would doff their hats!”

MOTHER is available now at AMAZON.

hs71vYQ2MXrYL._UX250_
Tomorrow night (7/9/20) at 8 pm EST on Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE!, we’ll be talking murder and mayhem with true crime author Harold Schechter, whose books have detailed the unspeakable crimes of such horrendous killers as Ed Gein, H.H. Holmes, Jane Toppan, Albert Fish, Belle Gunness, and many, many more. Harold has appeared on such shows and documentaries as Mysteries at the Museum, Serial Killers: Real Life Hannibal Lecters, Deadly Women, History’s Mysteries, A Crime to Remember, H.H. Holes: America’s First Serial Killer, World’s Most Evil Killers, Killer Kids, American Ripper, Ed Gein: The Ghoul of Plainfield, and more. Learn more about his work at: https://haroldschechter.com/ and listen to the show at: https://bit.ly/38CzzJG
HS51kq8v92A4L
Harold Schechter is an American true crime writer who specializes in serial killers. He attended the State University of New York in Buffalo where his PhD director was Leslie Fiedler. He is professor of American literature and popular culture at Queens College of the City University of New York.
hs81Wi2tzNejL
Schechter is married to poet Kimiko Hahn. He has two daughters from a previous marriage: the writer Lauren Oliver and professor of philosophy Elizabeth Schechter.
forshow2
Join the Thorne & Cross newsletter for updates, book deals, specials, exclusives, and upcoming guests on Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE! by visiting Tamara and Alistair at their websites: alistaircross.com and tamarathorne.com
This is a copyrighted, trademarked podcast owned solely by the Authors on the Air Global Radio, LLC.
And be sure and check out Thorne & Cross’ latest, ExorcismBook three in the gothic horror Ravencrest Saga, available now in ebook and paperback at Amazon and everywhere books are sold.
0Exorcism

We wrote an article over at Risingshadow about what inspired our upcoming thriller, Mother, titled In the Land of Moms and Monsters.

Mother is a psychological thriller in the vein of Psycho and Misery, with a pinch of Peyton Place and a dash of Gaslight. Expectant couple Claire and Jason Holbrook have fallen on hard times, forcing them to move in with Claire’s estranged mother. Claire vowed to have no contact with the overbearing woman ever again, but Mother is thrilled at the prospect of a grandchild.

At Mother’s, Claire and Jason begin experiencing things that make them determined to leave immediately … but when a cruel twist of fate makes that impossible, Claire becomes obsessed with her mother’s motives. Fantasy and fact blur together as her compulsion consumes her, and Jason wonders who the villain really is.

When a cache of macabre family secrets is uncovered, Claire and Jason find the answers they’re looking for – answers that will change them forever … assuming anyone can get out of Mother’s house alive.

Mother will be available in ebook and paperback in April.

MOTHER

Ravenghost1GUESTGagliani

If you’ve had enough of the teen-aged, puppy-eyed, lovesick hounds with hearts of gold… if you like your werewolves with some bite, join us tonight at Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE! where we’ll be talking to werewolf horror author, W.D. Gagliani. Listen in for your chance to win a signed copy of the book of your choice from the Nick Lupo series.

wd3

W.D. Gagliani is the author of the novels Wolf’s Trap, Wolf’s Gambit, Wolf’s Bluff, Wolf’s Edge, Wolf’s Cut, Wolf’s Blind (upcoming), and Savage Nights. Wolf’s Trap was a finalist for the Bram Stoker Award in 2004. He has published fiction and nonfiction in numerous anthologies and publications such as Robert Bloch’s Psychos, Undead Tales, More Monsters From Memphis, The Midnighters Club. His book reviews and nonfiction have been included in, among others, The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Chizine, HorrorWorld, Cemetery Dance, Hellnotes, Science Fiction Chronicle, The Scream Factory, The Writer magazine, and the books Thrillers: 100 Must Reads, They Bite, and On Writing Horror.

wd5

The team of Gagliani & Benton has published fiction in venues such as the upcoming X-Files anthology edited by Jonathan Maberry, SNAFU: An Anthology of Military Horror, SNAFU: Wolves at the Door, Dark Passions: Hot Blood 13, Zippered Flesh 2, Masters of Unreality (Germany), Malpractice: An Anthology of Bedside Terror, Splatterpunk Zine, and Dead Lines, along with the Kindle Worlds Vampire Diaries tie-in “Voracious in Vegas.” Some of their collaborations are available in the collection Mysteries & Mayhem.

wd6

Also, be sure to check out our novella, Christmas Spirits, which can be read as a stand-alone or as the fourth installment of the Ghosts of Ravencrest serial novel.

In The Ghosts of Ravencrest, Tamara Thorne and Alistair Cross have created a world that is dark, opulent, and smoldering with the promise of scares and seduction. You’ll be able to feel the slide of the satin sheets, taste the fizz of champagne, and hear the footsteps on the stairs.”

-Sylvia Shults, paranormal expert and author of Fractured Spirits

Christmas Spirits is available now!

redxmas